brevicon birth controlBrand Names: Aranelle, Balziva, Brevicon, Estrostep Fe, Femcon FE, Genora 1/35, Jenest, Junel 1.5/30, Junel Fe 1.5/30, Junel Fe 1/20, Leena, Loestrin 21 1.5/30, Loestrin 24 Fe, Loestrin Fe 1/20, Microgestin 1.5/30, Microgestin FE 1.5/30, Modicon, Necon 0.5/35, Necon 1/35, Necon 7/7/7, Nelova 0.5/35, Norethin 1/35 E, Norinyl 1/35, Nortrel 0.5/35, Nortrel 7/7/7, Ortho-Novum 1/35, Ortho-Novum 7/7/7, Ovcon 35, Tilia Fe, Tri-Legest Fe, Tri-Norinyl, Zenchent

View All Brevicon Reviews ⇓

Generic Name: ethinyl estradiol and norethindrone (ETH in il ess tra DYE ole and nor ETH in drone)

Average Consumer Rating: 2.3 out of 5

Order Birth Control Pills With 5%OFF Discount Code And Get 5% Discount!

birth control over the counter

Brevicon (also known by the generic name Norethindrone/Ethinyl Estradiol) is a medication that is used to prevent pregnancy. It belongs to a group of drugs called oral contraceptives and is made up of a combination of synthetic female hormones. It is also sometimes used to treat and control severe acne.

The normal female body goes through a monthly cycle where it prepares for the possibility of pregnancy. It does this by producing certain hormones that cause several different things to occur in the female reproductive tract. One of the things these hormones do is form an egg in the ovary and releases it into the uterus. Once inside the uterus, the egg is ready to be fertilized by a man’s sperm. This fertilization results in pregnancy.

Brevicon works by preventing the ovary from forming an egg. Since there is no egg produced, there is no chance that a woman can get pregnant. Brevicon also alters the consistency of the uterine lining and cervical mucus, thereby making it harder for sperm to reach an egg.

What are the side effects of using Brevicon (Norethindrone/Ethinyl Estradiol)?

More serious side effects are possible and may include chest pain or pressure, sweating, numbness or tingling anywhere in the body, severe headache, confusion, swelling of the limbs, stomach pain, vomiting, menstrual bleeding, yellowing or other changes of the skin, and lumps in the breasts. Contact your doctor right away if you experience these or any other unusual symptoms while using Brevicon.

Allergic reactions are possible when using this drug and include a sudden rash, itchiness or swelling of the skin, mouth, or throat, and difficulty breathing. If you suspect you are having an allergic reaction to this medicine, seek emergency medical care.

What precautions are advised when using Brevicon (Norethindrone/Ethinyl Estradiol)?

There are other drugs that may interfere with the way Brevicon works in your body including acetaminophen, certain antibiotics, immunosuppressant drugs, corticosteroids, asthma drugs, some barbiturates, St. John’s Wort, and any herbal or other nutritional supplements you may be taking. Discuss these with your doctor.

It is advised that women taking this drug do not smoke, as smoking can increase the chance of developing blood clots and stroke. Smoking can also decrease the effectiveness of Norethindrone/ethinyl estradiol.

Women who are pregnant or nursing should not use Brevicon.

Submit your review
1
2
3
4
5
Submit
     
Cancel

Create your own review

Average rating:  
 6 reviews
by Larisa on Brevicon

Was switched to this pill after trying several others to try and lighten my menstrual cycle. This one didn't give me any mood swings at all (unlike others like Alesse!) and lightened my period significantly. So significantly that I actually stopped getting it for a couple months, and then getting a really light period after that. As long as you're not worried about unwanted pregnancies, its kinda awesome only getting my period 3 - 4 times a year.

by Nicolette on Brevicon

Im not sure that I trust this pill. I was switched to it after being on ortho cyclen for over 2 years because my doctor ran out. Its going on 4 months since I have had a period and I have been tested for pregnancy and any std you can think of!

by Roxy on Brevicon

I started brevicon because i noticed changes in my menstrual cycle with my last birth control pill.Brevicon has only increased these symptoms and added very dark spotting beginning one week into my pills also heavy cramping that happens at the same time every day for a week following the spotting. I suggest trying something else since this pill is also so expensive

by Sloane on Brevicon

Did well for my period, meaning i didn't get it for some months, and when i did it was incredibly light and short. but it made my skin break out like no other, my face, my chest, my back! my sex drive also decreased. it also gave me hot flashes! i don't recommend it..

by Elena on Brevicon

I love this birth control. I was on tri cyclen for over a year and began experiencing some problems regarding the birth control pills, really bad cramps, migraines, and pro longed periods and also mood swings. Since I've switched to brevicon I have had regular lighter periods no cramps and no signs of mood swings. I really recommend this particular birth control pill it worked for me!!

by Maggie on Brevicon

This stuff is expensive!